Unique Weapon Skin

So a friend and I started playing GW2 two days ago and we basically now nothing about this game. We are currently lvl 21/22 and i got a unique weapon skin called "Knowledge is Power" from a chest after a main quest. We already upgraded our accounts (paid the 30 bucks), but I have to wait 4 more days until I can use the market. So should i wait and sell the item to help me through the early game or should I use it because it is more likely that I won't get it again ?

Any "common" weapon skin you get (anything below 5g on the TP) you will most likely be getting again. And when you are levelling, the coins are far more usefull for keeping your gear up to par by buying new greens every 10 level or so. You dont have to spend much to improve your gear by quite alot. Forget about the skins and look until you're level 80 and got minimum exotic.

There's a 3rd option: salvage it. That will unlock the weapon skin in your wardrobe so you can spend 1 transmutation charge to apply it to any other focus weapon you get (and you can do that as many times as you like, it's in your wardrobe forever). It will also give you crafting materials you can either use or sell. Use the best quality salvage kit you have, ideally a Black Lion salvage kit if you have a free one from login rewards, if not then a master's or mystic kit, because those have a higher chance of giving you rare materials from exotics.

Looking at the Wiki it seems you're unlikely to get the full value back as materials, but it's a compromise: you get the skin to use whenever you want (the stats are nothing special, you can get lots of items with the same stats) and you get some coin, or crafting materials; whichever is more useful to you.

@Daniel.1705 said:The worth posted on the TP is 70 silver (is TP like an auction house or just like a merchant shop?) so i guess salvaging it would probably be the most profitably choice ....

Anyway, thanks for the quick and helpfull responses :) !