A complete turret rework is long overdue

Kodama.6453

IntroductionWhen I started playing the game, I immediately fell in love with the engineer class and knew that I wanted to main it. And especially turrets were a passion of mine in the past, I used nothing but turrets in my utility bar until I reached level 80. I liked the idea that I can fortify a point that it becomes impossible for enemies to fight me in my "danger zone".

Unfortunately, that dream had to die. There comes the day for every engineer when they have to accept that turrets are simply not allowed to be good. And that includes every game mode. PvP, PvE, WvW, it doesn't matter. With minor exceptions (healing turret and rifle turret, the last one is solely used for the spammable toolbelt skill), the turret skill type just doesn't have any place in he game whatsoever.

Anet actually even moved away from the idea that turrets should be something you get rewarded for keeping alive over long periods of time. Even changing it that turrets just overcharge a single time on placement and if you want them to overcharge again.... then you have to remove them and place them again. This is not how this should work, turrets should create an area that is in your control and rewarding you for keeping them alive as long as possible.

Then there is also the visual aspect of turrets. I don't know if I am the only one, but I was a bit underwhelmed by the design of their models.Engineer got advertised with pictures like this one: https://d3b4yo2b5lbfy.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/wallpapers/GW2_EngineerWallpaper02-1920x1200.jpgThat one on the front left side, this is a worthy design for a rifle turret. Or maybe use something that actually looks like the icon on our skill bar is implying:https://wiki.guildwars2.com/images/3/35/Rifle_Turret.png

But instead of these, we are stuck with a rifle turret that looks like this:https://wiki.guildwars2.com/images/8/89/Rifle_Turret.jpg