Need serious help against reapers

Affinity.7253

So a friend and I recently started playing again, and we were having a blast in PvP. We are both switching up our kit routinely during unranked, and started going on crazy winning streaks. All in all we probably went 30ish wins to maybe 6-8ish or so losses. This may be because I picked up auramancer (I am an elementalist) while my friend settled in on a core condi tank mesmer.

This probably took us a good deal of the way there admittedly. However, every game there would be a minimum of 1-2 reapers, and usually a holo as well. These guys were our bane. Holo tended to be crazy bursty, but didn't have nearly the same CC or sustained damage output as reapers. We could do nothing against those guys.

I seemed to start noticing the same thing happening, I would try CCing them and it would never work. Always immune. Then I would overload with stability trait and get knocked out of it almost every time. Then of course, they have permachill, which may as well prevent you from ever overloading again as it would lengthen the time it would take to 8 seconds or so, and the reaper would kill me in 3-5 seconds if I didn't have any rolls or defenses left.

So for real: How do we beat reapers? I have heard before "just CC them" but to both of our observations, that just doesn't work. Even if one goes through, you have stopped a freight train barreling at you for 2 seconds, at which point it just resumes speed. A freight train with >30k hp.

This has gotten way worse as the past couple days we logged in, we are finding 2-4 reapers in every game now. We went like 4 games in a row with the enemy team having 2+ reapers. And often our team has a reaper or two as well.

Oh and I'm not even going to mention lich form. We all know about that.