Need help Finding Ideal Profession

SMTGS.6702

So I’ve been playing GW2 off and on for roughly 4 years, with certain goals in mind. But now that I’ve gotten my first character back to level 80 (my original Asura Guard combo), I’m looking at other game options besides the core story and the living story. I want to get involved in other areas like PvP, WvW, and Raids. However, all of my previous experiences with those game modes have deterred me from trying again with my Guard, mostly because they were bad ones.I put together a list of my preferences, improvements since day one, and struggles that I deal with in a lot of MMO’s, not just GW2.Preferences

• Ranged = slow burn condi damage
  • Melee = sustainable, high output burst damage
  • Good survivability
  • Simple rotation
  • Decent health pool
  • Minimal punishment for mistakes
  • All-rounder class that is viable in any game mode
  • Some challenge so gameplay doesn’t grow stale

Improvements

• Decent awareness of group status
  • Backing off/recuperating
  • Altering mechanics to compliment teammates/other players

Struggles

• Complicated rotations
  • Lots of combos/steps
  • Big risk, big reward
  • Serious punishment for mistakes
  • Spamming buttons or freezing up when cornered/overwhelmed
  • Dueling actual solo/party players

My current guild recommended Revenant to me, but I have mixed feelings on the class. I’d love to have some outside input. Thanks.

Power Soulbeast might be an option. Base HP pool is higher than Guardian. You can start with Marauder's stats until you are comfortable with the class & mechanics, which gives you ~ 21-22k HP in total. There exist variants for ranged (Longbow) and melee (sword+axe, greatsword). It has a few options to support the party, not very complicated. Soulbeast is meta. If you want to stick to ranger, but increase difficulty a little you can switch to condition Soulbeast or Druid.