Firebrand needs to be getting the same treatment as Scourge

Shroud.2307

Before anyone cites my signature, I play Scourge less than I do core Necro or Reaper. In fact I barely touched it at all until late this year because I never cared much for it.

On to my opinion."Boon balls" exist almost exclusively because of Firebrands. Yes, there are many other things that contribute to this, but Firebrand is the backbone of zerg support and single-handedly replaced the roles of many other professions on it's introduction (though subsequent nerfs have again opened those roles to others, eg. Scrapper, Tempest).

I'm no expert on Guardian as a whole, so I can't give any educated suggestions on what should be changed. I do however know that nerfing it too significantly could reintroduce the "pirate ship" meta, so very precise adjustments would need to be made to find a good middle ground. Thoughts on how that could be done would be appreciated. Reducing the number of targets on Firebrand healing skills would be one option I think could work, but again, I don't know much about Guardian as a whole, so that might be too much.

What ever adjustments are made, I think something needs to be done. Every time Scourge (and to a lesser extent Necromancer as a whole) gets nerfed, Firebrand inadvertently becomes stronger. Necro as a class is still as much a part of the meta as ever and is in no way in danger of losing it's viability in that respect, but I don't think it's fair for ANet to keep balancing zerg play almost entirely around Necro while mostly ignoring Guard (and when I say "Necro" and "Guard" I more or less mean their elite specs Scourge and Firebrand, but I'm talking the classes as a whole as well).