Teach me to scrapper, please...

Lynx.9058

I'm still new to the game, I just got my first character (charr engineer) to 80, and have the first 3 or so skills in scrapper unlocked. While leveling, I was using firearms + explosives and mostly using a flamethrower for the juggernaut stability and much greater damage than I had with the pistols/rifle. I didnt really have any issues during leveling and even managed to kill a couple champions solo.

Now that I've added scrapper in, and bought some semi-decent level 80 gear (also an entropy hammer given to me by a guild member), things just seem to have gotten worse. Without the juggernaut stability, I get knocked around all the time while trying to use the hammer, and honestly it doesn't seem to be any more effective than the flamethrower was, often times feels like i'm doing less damage and taking more when using the hammer vs using the flamethrower.

I've come across videos of scrappers that look really impressive, solo WvW roaming and soloing pve stuff easily, but that's not the experience I'm having at the moment. I know I need to work on filling out the rest of the specialization to get more passive traits unlocked, but I also feel like I'm doing something wrong when it comes to actual gameplay.

While I was leveling, I ran flamethrower, flame turret, thumper turret, and supply drop for my utilities, and spent 99% of the time with the flamethrower. Turrets were there for veteran/champion enemies where I needed extra tankiness, with the thumper turret doing knockdown and holding threat, and the flame turret providing smokescreen.