The game's engine needs updates to modern standards

Crevox.5806

It's been a great five years, but the game's age is starting to show. I'm running a pretty high end machine and the game runs abysmally compared to other games, especially other MMORPGs (WoW, FFXIV). Look at the settings menus of these games: it's crazy how little Guild Wars has in comparison, and that's just options. I just started playing again (haven't played since HoT launch) and brought a bunch of friends with me, and multiple of them have commented that the game runs really badly for them.

-The game generally has low FPS, especially in any crowded area. It's difficult to maintain 60 FPS in many areas, let alone push to 144. If you enter combat with multiple players, good luck. I'm not going to claim I know the reasoning (cough poor multithreading and GPU utilization), but really this is a huge issue. As an example of poor optimization, I have two GTX 1080s and I have to play the game on low shadows because the game's FPS drops a ton the instant I put it any higher, yet ambient occlusion and supersampling don't even budge it (???). This is even true with no players around. The game also has frame pacing issues and frequent micro-stutters, especially on UI updates.

-The UI scaling options are awful. You are given a few select preset options (with no indicator as to what these even are) and that's it. Anything above 1080p is a downgrade in playability because the UI simply can't keep up. I have a 4k monitor and wouldn't mind playing the game on that or even in DSR, but the UI gets so small and there's nothing you can do about it.

-General quality of life features you'd expect are just missing. No floating health bars for allied players is a common one that's brought up all the time. There's lots more that would just be nice to have, but there's very few options to even do so. I know the game's UI is meant to be super stylish, but it seems like it's just holding back usability at this point.