Are Minion Masters Passive builds?(Multi game perspective)

Lily.1935

This is something I've been seeing people claim a lot lately. That Minions are Passive builds and are bad for gameplay. Now There are two points in that statement. Both of Which I don't entirely agree with but I'll only be discussing one of those points because that's the one that matters to me personally. Passive builds being bad for the game I'd argue isn't true as long as there are more viable active options, but that mostly just boils down to opinion. I didn't fault people for playing the 2 button back stab deadeye build that was almost as braindead as you can get and I wouldn't fault someone who wants to sit back and shoot fireballs or let their minions fight for them.

More I want to discuss this idea that Minions Masters are passive. And my perspective on this is, Well it depends. I've played a minion master build in every game that would let me and I have some wide experience with it. And the claim I see being thrown around just isn't true, but I can absolutely see why people feel that way. Some Games do create MMs where the player is quite passive while their minions do all the work. Grim Dawn I think would be a fantastic example of a Passive Minion master since the minions summoned have decent bulk, have quick reaction time, do a lot of damage and the support you provide are passive auras I think in that game its absolutely true minions are quite passive. When looking at one of the oldest, Diablo II, where part of this meme comes from I'd Argue they're not as passive as they appear. Minions in D2 are notoriously frail and require constant engagement from the player to summon more. Although I don't think its much better than Grim Dawn in the player's engagement with the environment it is much better.