Observations/criticism and ideas

tekfan.3179

First off let me give you an idea of my perspective: My main is an ele and I've played since launch with some phases of inactivity. Pretty much only PvE, with a few dips into WvW for the occasional reward-track or back in the day, when it still was required for world completion. I've been doing T4-fractals for some time, raided for a few months but the latter not very excessively. I had the times when eles wouldn't get a place in a dungeon-group, been through the age of the ice bow when ele was meta for dungeons, witnessed the power of the old meteor storm and how staff-ele was used for high level group content and am now here. None of that is supposed to frame me as an expert, I just went through a lot of balance-changes with this class. So let me just dump of some observations/criticism and ideas.

As strange as this sounds, after eight years of balance and two specializations, this class feels clunky, restrictive and unrewarding to me, compared with the other classes I've learned to enjoy. A reward for mastering the elementalist is non-existant in my opinion, instead it feels like dps, condi-dmg and CC are just spread over four attunements instead of two weapon-sets and I only get access to those abilities in even remotely the same fashion as other professions, when I finally master the elementalist.In theory it could be fun to re-assemble skills from other professions with three other skills...yes, could be, but isn't. With additional cooldowns on skills and attunement-swaps everything takes longer, requires more time to get back to what you did before and is highly vulnerable to interrupts. The interruption may just be a dodge, as ele still has the squishiest base-stats regarding survivability.