Reaper or Deadeye

AxionZ.4309

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Guild Wars 2 and I just got to lvl 80/all Reaper skills the other day, enjoying it but also at the same time I'm not yet set on what I would like as my main for PvE & PvP, so hopefully some advice from people here can help me decide.

What do you think is more viable to do everything, Fractals/Raids/WvW Roaming?

Thanks!

Honestly, both thief and necromancer (realistically you'll be swapping specs and builds as you get comfortable with the professions) are viable in all content. Both have condition and power builds and both can partake in both sPvP, WvWvW, and PvE.

That said, they do have different playstyles.

Thief is more bursty, with active defenses such as evades to keep it alive. Though the down-side is if your rotation slips too often, you'll be more heavily punished. Thief does have some "slow-but-steady" options as well however as well.

Necromancer is tankier and a slower. It doesn't have cloaks or active defenses (such as evasion built into attacks) - though it does have healing from traits as well as a lot more AoE cleave built into many of its attacks.

Ultimately, it comes down to flavor.

Do you want to have a bit more potential towards burst? Do you want to cloak and jump around, evading enemies like an annoying gnat until you deal the killing blow? Do you enjoy moving quickly? Thieves are often used in sPvP for capturing points, as an example - so that is a role you'll often be expected to fill. If that sort of thing appeals to you - moving quickly, cloaking not only yourself but also your team, dealing good amounts of burst damage. . .then go thief.