Is finishing LW stories that important?

Im very new to the game and there’s so much more i want to learn and i just wanted to know if finishing the stories is important. Cause its kinda expensive to buy all the chapters. And i refuse to spend actual money aside from buying the full account. Thank you in advance.

I haven't purchased the LW stories yet, but as far as I'm aware there is content gated behind them like maps, new currencies, armour/weapon skins, etc. I'm completely unaware as to if you actually have to do the story or simply own it to access this content, though....I would purchase LW to access the maps, but I personally don't like doing story mode.

@"Pacificterror.7805" said:I haven't purchased the LW stories yet, but as far as I'm aware there is content gated behind them like maps, new currencies, armour/weapon skins, etc. I'm completely unaware as to if you actually have to do the story or simply own it to access this content, though....I would purchase LW to access the maps, but I personally don't like doing story mode.

Well once you own it, you can use teleport to friend if you can get a guildie or just lfg on said tabs for the maps to get into them.Would advice doing story since it unlocks achievements that make it easier to get the meta skins unless you wanna do wvw or spvp tracks.EditTo the OP if you dont like the story and dont care about the maps there is no reason to buy the living stories.Some unlock more mounts tho.Whole season 4 to access skyscalehttps://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/SkyscaleS4E03 to access roller beetle.https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Roller_Beetle

@"Catti.6927" said:Im very new to the game and there’s so much more i want to learn and i just wanted to know if finishing the stories is important. Cause its kinda expensive to buy all the chapters. And i refuse to spend actual money aside from buying the full account. Thank you in advance.

Just a little breakdown on what comes with each purchase: