RNG and the Lottery

Over the years there has been rage over RNG, in a genre that almost exclusively depends on this mechanic.

First is was a few things... precursors, ascended, fossils, shoes... but now people are complaining about ANYTHING not dropping for them.

When collections came out, prices of named exos spiked, nobody complained. Now with PoF collections everyone complains. Why?

Now, I dont play the lotto, or gamble IRL but isnt the whole point about EXCITEMENT?

You dont go to the store and say "I have been playing lotto for 20 years and never won!!!! This is unacceptable! I demmand you give me a guaranteed win if I collect x many lotto tickets(map currency)!"

No. You dont.Why cant we just enjoy the spontaneuety of our drops and be happy when whe finally get it?

Besides, real talk here... I have been seeing many of you complaining about grind.

You realize less RNG=More Grind, right?

RNG ties into the feeling of GW2 not being rewarding. Not to say every loot bag should vomit exotics on every click, but there are certain conditions/criteria which make it acceptable or unacceptable to pull RNG shenanigans.

• If the chances are highly plentiful (trick or treat bags, unidentified gear), it's okay to have a lower loot chance.The furor over the collections might be a bit specific and probably due for a tweak, but on the surface, it's not an "evil" thing to do.For something like Mystic Clovers, it's utter gambling, and while one can pay for whatever chances they wish, it largely leads to a financial loss and most of the time doesn't support the actual goal of clicking repeatedly for the formula. File that under Not Cool.If the drop is tied to a boss that only shows up once every two or three hours, raise the loot chance! Someone shouldn't farm Teq/Ulgoth/etc every day for three months and still not get some awesome loot drop.