How time consuming are raids?

Hello!

I mostly play fractals and open world content, gearing my character and just doing whatever, but i'd like to try raiding.The problem is, i have no idea how raiding works and if i even have time for that. I can do fractal dailies in an hour or so and move on, but i'm quite sure raids don't work like that.I'm currently studying at college, and during the week i have a lot of work to do, so i don't have a lot of time to play, but when i do, i'm struggling to focus on what to do. If it's gathering mats, meta maps, fractals, dailies. I can't fit all of it into my play time and i don't know what to focus on. Maybe focusing on raids would be a good thing if i can jam it into my free time. That depends on how time consuming raids are so...

Can someone explain raids to me please? Not in depth as in what i have to do when in them, but generally, how long do they take, if i have to commit to a certain time to do them and just some general info about them.

I play a Mirage, currently just experimenting with builds, but i can easily switch to a meta build if i have to. I can pretty much also switch to a Chronomancer with a gear tune up, i hear they're quite sought after in raids. Will that help me have an easier time raiding?

Help a total newb out!

EDIT: I also need some kind of a long term goal to keep me going in the game, maybe working towards a legendary would help that. I understand it takes a really long time, but still... Long term and all that.

Depends on the group you're with. Some take 2+ hours to clear all 4 wings, some take 2+ hours to kill 1 boss. As for whether or not chrono will help you get in, that depends; how well can you keep alacrity and quickness up, and how well do you feel you can distort the group? Pugs are generally not where you want to start to get into raids. Look for a training guild to make it easier on yourself.