Finding Builds

notebene.3190

[First paragraph kinda sounds like I shouldn't post this here, but bear with me, or just skip it :)]

I was hoping to try a condi (I guess that's what the short bow is, I really want to play around with the short bow) Renegade build, and make her some new weapons and armor to go with that. I've never done a condi build before, most of my other classes are some sort of Power variant, and most wear Zerker gear, with some exceptions. My Rev is currently a Herald that mostly heals (S/Shield+Staff) in Clerics gear. Served me well enough, but it's been a really long time since I've played with or enjoyed the short bow, and thought this would be a good opportunity to make someone who could do that again. My Ranger used one for awhile before the range was nerfed, and there was a period of time when I used one on my Thief, but that was a long time ago (pistols!).

Now, while this starts like a 'go post this on the Rev forum', it got me thinking more in general terms that I just don't know how to 'find' builds. I go to gw2skills.net, but there isn't anything really 'saved' there that you just look up, like 'top builds' or what not. At least that I can figure out. It seems like unless someone posts it somewhere, you don't see it.

When I go peruse a class forum, it's always like I'm coming into the middle of a conversation, and everyone on the planet (except me) knows the metas and the combinations and the moves and the rotations...and don't get me started on the acronyms and other short hand. This is a great example of the type of threads I'm trying to pick through, hoping to find some links to some builds to try, and not finding any links, but a lot of people that just seem to know everything and they all just seem to take this stuff for granted, and I can't figure out how to get to that point to understand the conversation.