Ambush Skills

AliamRationem.5172

Hi! I'm new to mesmer and I've been trying out mirage in open world the past couple of weeks. So far, it's a really fun class to play, but it's a bit complicated and I don't know all of the angles yet. So, to start out, I was wondering if any of you more experienced mesmers could share your thoughts on the various ambush skills available to mirage. Pros/Cons, bugs that may not be obvious, etc. Whatever you want to share to get the ball rolling! There is probably a lot of mesmer "common knowledge" that I'm still ignorant of.

Ambushes generally are just slightly upgraded auto-attacks.Ambushes are a lot stronger with the trait Infinite Horizon, which also makes clones perform them. Building around this, you will want to have 3 clones up for most of the fight instead of phantasms.

The only Ambush that really stands out is Mirage Thrust (Sword).It can be used to move around and daze an enemy (this is a lot more relevant in pvp).

As far as problems go,

• Staff Ambush's main problem is that the attack goes in a straight line, which makes it easy to miss, should the enemy move
  • Axe's Ambush just goes for random enemies, but can possibly hit twice if you are standing on an enemy (expect this to be fixed soon)
  • Scepter Ambush will lock you in the animation

To me, ambushes are rather disappointing. They are all simply terrible in PvE, with the staff and sword ones being close to being decent. Traiting IH helps, but without it they are worthless.

1) Sword - probably the best ambush for PvP, not so much in PvE. It gives you great mobility, interrupts and deals some damage. What it needs is a damage buff in PvE and it will be fine, I guess?