[Suggestion] RE: RNG Gemstore Mount Skins

Canis.7451

Alright, ANET. I love you, I really do, but this is where I draw the line.

I've always done my best to support you where I could. I am a college student; my limited income is stretched far and thin, and I rarely have much left over at the end of the month for the little things. However, when I do, I always make an effort to pick up something neat from the Gemstore as my way of supporting my favorite MMO and the company behind it. I thought that maybe, with PoF and mounts, that mount skins would be the new thing. As always, of course, there would be some that I had no interest in but that's okay! I can just buy the others that peak my interest.

Except I can't, because the maybe 6 skins I like out of the 30 are stuck behind a wall of RNG. So where as I may have spent money on those 6 skins up front, now I've got to decide if it is worth it for me to throw my money away at this lootbox system to see if I will get any of the skins I want. And with my luck when it comes to RNG, I probably wont. This is the same reason I try to find some semblance of impulse control within me to keep away from the black lion chests. I'd love that little jackal backpack-- but not when there is a 90% chance I probably wont get it.

Then there is the 120$ to bypass a gamble (-- which, by the way, this certainly is. I am honestly surprised that lootboxes and other rng content in games haven't been subjected to gambling laws yet but that is a whole other issue that I will not be digging into today) by getting all 30 skins-- half of which we probably do not even want, with no way to give said unwanted skins to someone who may feel more strongly toward them.. The 120$ option is limited, too. After this week is up then you're back to 12000 gems for all 30 skins, which is around 150$ for those that do not know.

So, here are my suggestions --