Mystic Coins pricetrends and PoF

northlion.7608

As I assume many of you have noticed the prices of mystic coins have gone up rather much over the past 2 months. The average buy price in july was about 90 silver and the sell price was about 1.1 gold. At the moment however the buyprice is 1.38 gold and the sellingprice 1.58 gold. I think the demand for the coins with the introduction of gen 2 legendary weapons, legendary backpacks and legendary armor might have become bigger than the actual supply, although I have no professional background in economics.

I honestly don't feel like wasting gold on them.I guess you can get about 20-25 mystic coins from doing your dailies on one account each month, so it would take little less than under a year to get a mystic tribute (not counting mystic clovers).

My actual question is therefor simple, do you think Anet should add additional ways to get mystic coins in the upcomming Path of Fire expansion?(Or should I not count on that happening and just make a bunch of alternate accounts like everyone else does?)

Also remember, with the expac, there'll be a lot of returning and new players to the game. Which means more people getting mats and selling. I would caution to wait on prices until the initial influx of players in the next few weeks. I would argue that once we hit November/December we'll know if there's a serious supply issue.

@OriOri.8724 said:I think they should introduce a few new, limited, sources of MC in the expac. Something like 1 MC for completing a legendary bounty, on a once a day reward box. Limits how many people can get, also takes a bit of effort to acquire.

Something like this sounds like a good idea. They could also add one to the first defeat of each raid boss each week to add a bit more to the supply.

Chris Cleary from Anet says: