Permanently Immobilized

https://imgur.com/a/3sxcF

My character was permanently immobilized, unable to chase down the person. It wouldn't have mattered if I condition cleansed, because he had immobilization on a short cooldown. It got up to something like 5/6 stacks within the couple of seconds we battled. So my character stood there taking it until he finally downed my character. Effortless.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That's a thief using pistol mainhand. I'm no expert on the build, but he clearly had some poison and bleed stacked, so cleansing would not have been wasted effort. Something to understand about the thief class is they work off of initiative on their weapon skills rather than cooldowns. This is nice for them in that they can spam abilities like that 1.5s immobilize on body shot back to back. On the other hand, all of their weapon skills draw from the same finite resource pool. In other words, the thief can spam immob and lock you in place, but if you cleanse those bleed/poison stacks he won't deal any damage in the process because the purpose of that skill is to apply immob and vulnerability, not to deal damage.

The problem from what I can see in your combat log is that you stood there letting poison and bleed tick away your health while immobilized when you should have cleansed those. The thief can immob you all he wants, but if you cleanse the abilities that are actually dealing damage all he's doing is keeping you from getting close enough to rip his face off.

Well i'm a Guardian so there's 0 chance of killing the guy. Also I tried battling shortly after. I have a habit of standing there with immobilization, to add a bit of dramatic effect. The difference is the immobilizations continued stacking, so even after I cleansed it didn't matter. Full health and the immobilizations continued, on top of Daze and other ridiculous things. I activated maybe two or three skills and was already done.

That's just broken.