Newish to WvW

Oh Griffo.3148

Hey guys, i'm fairly new to WvW (Less than rank 100). Just wanting to get some good advice on a good way to get involved. I have a fully leveled and berserker geared necro and a fully leveled and marauder geared guardian. When i've been playing, i've mainly been running around in zergs, but find it difficult to fight anybody in small groups etc. Any advice would be appreciated :)

Concerning your guardian, with a full marauder you can eventually play a Roaming medi trapper.https://metabattle.com/wiki/Build:Dragonhunter_-_Meditrapper_roamerYour goal will be mainly to either cap/defend camp and sentry or evolving around a zerg to take down valuable targets that are out of position.

If you want a meta build to evolve in small scale or zerg you will either need a Celestial or a Minstrel build to go Firebrand Frontline/Support.

Players that run in small groups generally run different builds than what you would find appropriate for zerging. They are more like what you would find used in PvP. If you want to get better in small fights, I would recommend practicing some PvP. This will give you good experience with learning classes, and especially with how to counter them, and their strengths and weaknesses etc.

There are certain things you will pick up over time. Like prioritizing and focusing specific targets over others. Using your surroundings to your advantage. Swapping skills out as needed. Knowing how to watch a map like looking for dots, ri timers to give you an idea of where and how far a group might be, seeing swords, looking for missing sentry flags/caravans etc.

One of the best ways to learn is to join a guild. Most wvw guilds have their own builds. You can also check out a lot of guides online. Check out sites like Metabattle.com to give you an idea, and look at videos on YouTube. Also make use of a build calculator to play around with numbers when you feel comfortable enough to make your own build.