Basic thoughts on Axes and Specialization.... discuss your experiences

Blakhart.5024

Hi All.

Just wanting a basic discussion around Axes. I started playing Warrior about 5 months ago and I have played primarily with Axe/Axe that entire time after trying out all the weapons., even before the latest patch which increased their damage. I do realize GS can do more damage with the correct build - but frankly i enjoy dual-wield and Axe more.

I have been trying to find the "best" axe build for producing damage whilst not being a glass cannon in PvE as well as an alternate beefier/tankier build for dungeons. I'd love to hear other peoples' experiences.

For this initial discussion im not really discussing gear so much as the Traits and Specializations. I think its fairly obvious which gears are more DPS oriented and which are more "Tanky" but what really matters is the specials you go with.

Basically ive found 3 main builds that I find reasonable.

Def/Arms/Disc has been my primary spec for months. Defense still has Cull the Weak and Armored attack to push out a bit more damage if things like Defy Pain and Dogged March arent required at the time. Arms gives Dual Wielding for added 20% speed and you pick up Bloodlust, Rending Strikes and Furious Burst which just help out the damage element. In Discipline you get Warrior SPrint for speed and Axe Mastery.

[Axe Mastery vs Heightened Focus. I used to use Heightened Focus along with a Sigil of Rage on one axe and this seemed to provide a LOT of attack speed, especially with Arms. However I did quite a few DPS tests and it seems that axe mastery just edges out the above - but id love to hear other thoughts on this.]