What is a thief's role in sPvP?

Poelala.2830

I have very little experience with thief, and it is probably my least played class. Also, I am making this post not to say thief isn't viable, but to state how I think it is weak in the meta and I want to be told why I am wrong. With that said, I have a few things to say with thief. Thief isn't substantially weaker after the endurance nerf (which made absolutely no sense to me), but they are weaker due to PoF in general. Along with revenant and ele (can be debated but I see no meta role with weaver...), thief received a useless PoF elite spec. This means that their class is balanced to fit into HoT as far as I know. The meta that came along with PoF introduced everything that ailed thief in HoT. HoT for thief was great because the only thing they couldn't do was +1 druids and scrappers. Now, they can't +1 druid, scrapper, spellbreaker, firebrand, scourge (if the scourge is offensive), or mirage (due to stunbreak dodge and stealth with lots of blinks and gap openers, as well as insane condition pressure). They cannot rush far anymore due to the lack of moa from mirages using jaunt, they can't go home due to wasted potential and they cannot team fight at mid due to the spam. Thief is a bad option in comps due to PoF specs having high mobility and high sustain. In the most recent Jebro UGO tourney in the finals, the team with the thief lost even though the players were roughly similar in skill, and they lost hard. One of the commentators even commented on how the thief had no real role in the game at one point. Even in ranked, you see thief a lot less and classes that don't even mimic the role filling the spot due to the shifted meta.

The role will depend on the build. However, the best thief builds are roamers (S/D or D/P). The role is generally this:

If the far point is open, you use your superior mobility to get there quickly and decap (almost never fully cap), then go somewhere else and help out.*