Role of mesmer in WvW?

Rysdude.3824

Hello everyone,Posting to get some clarification on what the "expected" role is for a mesmer in WvW. I'm still very new to the environment and want to make sure I'm doing something meaningful for my world. As I understand it, mesmers make great roamers, i.e. flipping caps and taking down those singular guards. They're often good at picking off stragglers on larger blobs. But I was once assigned in a zerg to stick next to the commander and guard him as I was told they were great for that. That was a bit different, but I liked it. It was also a role I didn't know about. Are there any other things mesmers can be useful for? I am currently playing a Power Mirage.Thanks for reading.

you can get people inside objectives with portal even if all walls and gates are closed. but for hiding in them you either need luck or a thief friend that is good at playing hide and seek.in zergs you mostly just spamm boonshare and veil bot. a gravity well can also be very deadly when placed correctly or classic moa to focus enemy commander. and sometimes, very rare your commander might want to suprise your opponent with a portalbomb wich will end mostly with your zerg wiping (not sure if that is being useful then)if you only port in a spellbreaker for a bubble might be better use.there are also alot of shortcuts in objectives and outside with blink, that not every class has access too so you can put up QoL ports, tho mostly Scourges are used for that as there is a target limit on port and you often got more scourges than mesmers and might not get everyone through one portal.