[Question] Do I suck, or..? (Living World Season 3 Spoilers)

thorsonwong.2805

tl;dr Mesmer struggling in even story content. In need of help. Pls help. Q-Q

So, it's been a while since I've played GW2. I left around the time HoT was coming out due to all my friends leaving to move onto other pastures, and I'd just recently come back a week ago. I figured I'd try my Mesmer again, since the idea of an illusionist class really appealed to me, but... then I started playing. I'm level 80, and making my way through HoT has been difficult, at the best of times. Not impossible, but difficult in varying degrees. That's fine, though! I made it through, defeated Mordy, etc. Hurrah! Yet... as I make my way into season 3, I find myself coming across more difficult obstacles. I die repeatedly to complete my objectives, enemies take a year and a half to kill, I repeatedly get downed or stunlocked to death with no hope of saving myself. Still, no worries! I can prevail!

...but then I reached the last chapter of episode 4. First came the beastmaster and his carnival goons. "Oh, that's a lot of veterans. But no worries, I've got Canach and Demmi!" I told myself, and into the fray I went, queuing up all my mantras. I throw in a time warp as I engage, then start with a blurred frenzy! It works, I'm wounding them (albeit a little slowly) and they're not hititng me at all! Huzzah! I start throwing out my phantasms and clones, and then... knocked down, incapacitated, dead. "Oh, that... that sucked. Oh well!" I rezzed up and rejoined my friends, still in the midst of combat (or friend, since Canach decided to run to greet me at spawn). Re-joining Demmi as soon as possible, I thrust myself into the thick of it once more, sword in hand. Blurred frenzy! It works again, and then... death. This repeats itself around 3-ish times before I outlast them. "Well, at least the worst is over. Maybe I wasn't dodging enough, or dodging too much."