Black Lion Chest and Devaluing The Past

TheGrimm.5624

So there are multiple sides here. First I was one of those that pre-ordered GW2 and did some of beta but then did not come back and play until a few years after the game was live since I was active else where. So I missed LS1 and came in mid LS2. Hence there were things I would not be able to acquire. That was cool, there should be some perceived value in collecting things for your account. I also admit I am a trader and I do gamble on Black Lion chests.

All that said I think the trend of offering things that people missed via Black Lion unlocks is not a good thing for veteran players. It removes value from players that are veterans and worked thru and acquired things at the time they occurred. I appreciate that people have things that I missed at the time and can say that's cool. I fear that moving items to the BLTC of historical value is not good. I like that I can see people and think, hey they were part of x event. Its fun and I can tip my hat to them even if I missed it. By just offering these things up it reduces their value. I understand it increases sales but would ask ANet to think more on the portfolio and offer new things and keep to their ideal of living story, its ok to have things that are timely and that come and go. Its ok that I might miss something and not be able to get it. Skins are just skins but still there is value in timeliness, please don't undervalue that.

I know others will feel that well I should be able to get this even though I wasn't around at the time, or it is just a skin why can't I get it, but that's part of the appeal of things, its good that we are not cookie cutters. Giving people rewards for the time they played is a positive thing in light of the "Living" story. Don't take that away. Keep sales and marketing in line with art producing new things and let historical things have value.