Gold to Gem prices are not working. — Guild Wars 2 Forums

ArenaNet Forum Chat for September: The next forum conversation, on the topic of our September 18th release -- including Living World Season 4 Episode 4, a new raid, a new legendary, and more -- invites member questions and comments from Tuesday (9/25) through Friday afternoon Pacific Time (9/28). Devs will be responding through early October, as their schedules allow. Join the special September 2018 AFC Subforum to take part. More info here.

Gold to Gem prices are not working.

Sadly I don't have knowledge to develope API. But I can't be the only one who has noticed that all the trackers using API have reported gem prices at same amount since Jan 11 2018. Still googling about this problem you don't get a single proper hit. To whom should this bug be informed?
I'd like to know when to buy my gems. ;)

Comments

  • At 2:54 UTC:

    • 2724 coins buys one gem
    • 100 gems buys 187312

    Earlier in the week, the API pegged it at

    • 2770 for one gem
    • 100 gems turning into 190828 coins

    So it seems only to have stopped updating recently.
    Regardless, this is the right place to post issues with the API.

    "With great power comes not-so-great utility bills."

  • https://api.guildwars2.com/v2/commerce/exchange/coins?quantity=1000001 updated from

    {
      "coins_per_gem": 2739,
      "quantity": 365
    }
    

    to

    {
      "coins_per_gem": 2695,
      "quantity": 371
    }
    

    about 15 minutes ago. So I don't know if it magically started working again, but otherwise gw2spidy seems broken.

  • Wanze.8410Wanze.8410 Member ✭✭✭

    if you look at any of the tracking websites, like gw2spidy or gw2efficiency, its only the gold to gem exchange, which doesnt seem to update and to be stuck at 31.7g per 100 gems since jan 10th, while the gem to gold exchange rate shows regular fluctuation since then.

    The trading post transaction api also doesnt work since that date/update.

  • I'd like to note that GW2shinies has managed to record some changes since Jan 10 but even their records are not updated even daily.

  • gw2efficiency uses gw2spidy's graph, so if gw2spidy's graph is broken, so is gw2efficiency's. I'm not sure what happened on gw2shinies, but that graph doesn't look correct either. My guess is that it only updates sporadically, which makes it even weirder.

  • I've been spot checking the actually API and it does update, but not as often as it should be.

    "With great power comes not-so-great utility bills."

  • Gold to Gems seems stuck since Feb, the 4th 2018 0h, Gems to gold since March, the 8th, 11:00.
    https://api.guildwars2.com/v2/commerce/exchange/coins?quantity=250000 returns always
    "{ "coins_per_gem": 3205 "quantity": 78 }"

  • Rosamonde Venus.2948Rosamonde Venus.2948 Member ✭✭
    edited April 9, 2018

    seems was updated once this night (now 28.08), but stuck again, and gw2spidy doesn't give the same value (still 27.17 on gw2spidy)

  • Rosamonde Venus.2948Rosamonde Venus.2948 Member ✭✭
    edited April 9, 2018

    I've created an app checking the coins_per_gem value every minute, and recording every change, with new value and timestamp.
    1st constation, the value changed once in 4 hours, and gw2spidy is stuck

  • Rosamonde Venus.2948Rosamonde Venus.2948 Member ✭✭
    edited April 10, 2018

    here are the current results
    Price for 100gems (gold) & Timestamp
    28.40 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-09 16:17:37 CEST (2018-04-09 14:17:37 UTC)
    28.73 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-09 17:31:04 CEST (2018-04-09 15:31:04 UTC)
    29.06 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-09 23:05:19 CEST (2018-04-09 21:05:19 UTC)
    29.41 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 00:18:15 CEST (2018-04-09 22:18:15 UTC)

    My app was running all night long, so as you can see, the value is not refreshed for a long time : minimum more than 1h, and all night long.
    I've also seen GW2spidy is updating again, but it seems we don't get the same values and we're not updating at the same time (they got 6 changes in the night, and me no one).
    My goal was buying cheap gems, so I need at least one update every minute or so. Like this, it is totally useless for me.

    I've seen you closed this issue in the Kanban, but imho should be reopened.
    I'll post new results tomorrow

  • Rosamonde Venus.2948Rosamonde Venus.2948 Member ✭✭
    edited April 11, 2018

    Today was better.
    Here are the new entries :

    Price for 100gems (gold) & Timestamp
    29.06 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 10:56:13 CEST (2018-04-10 08:56:13 UTC)
    28.73 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 12:01:33 CEST (2018-04-10 10:01:33 UTC)
    29.06 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 12:59:58 CEST (2018-04-10 10:59:58 UTC)
    28.73 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 13:51:49 CEST (2018-04-10 11:51:49 UTC)
    29.06 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 15:36:21 CEST (2018-04-10 13:36:21 UTC)
    28.73 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 16:46:44 CEST (2018-04-10 14:46:44 UTC)
    29.76 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 17:50:06 CEST (2018-04-10 15:50:06 UTC)
    35.71 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 18:48:03 CEST (2018-04-10 16:48:03 UTC)
    32.46 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 19:52:03 CEST (2018-04-10 17:52:03 UTC)
    33.33 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 20:47:54 CEST (2018-04-10 18:47:54 UTC)
    32.89 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 20:49:31 CEST (2018-04-10 18:49:31 UTC)
    32.46 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 22:45:19 CEST (2018-04-10 20:45:19 UTC)
    33.33 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-10 23:35:57 CEST (2018-04-10 21:35:57 UTC)
    29.76 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 04:08:50 CEST (2018-04-11 02:08:50 UTC)
    30.86 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 05:18:48 CEST (2018-04-11 03:18:48 UTC)
    31.25 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 06:00:08 CEST (2018-04-11 04:00:08 UTC)
    30.48 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 06:49:31 CEST (2018-04-11 04:49:31 UTC)
    30.86 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 07:39:43 CEST (2018-04-11 05:39:43 UTC)
    31.25 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 09:11:27 CEST (2018-04-11 07:11:27 UTC)
    30.48 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 10:02:54 CEST (2018-04-11 08:02:54 UTC)
    31.25 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 11:02:43 CEST (2018-04-11 09:02:43 UTC)
    30.48 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 11:49:18 CEST (2018-04-11 09:49:18 UTC)
    32.05 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 12:42:00 CEST (2018-04-11 10:42:00 UTC)
    31.64 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 13:31:14 CEST (2018-04-11 11:31:14 UTC)
    30.86 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 14:18:16 CEST (2018-04-11 12:18:16 UTC)
    30.48 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 15:24:27 CEST (2018-04-11 13:24:27 UTC)
    30.86 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 15:26:00 CEST (2018-04-11 13:26:00 UTC)
    31.64 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 16:31:29 CEST (2018-04-11 14:31:29 UTC)
    32.46 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 17:25:13 CEST (2018-04-11 15:25:13 UTC)
    31.64 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 18:04:51 CEST (2018-04-11 16:04:51 UTC)
    30.86 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 19:00:43 CEST (2018-04-11 17:00:43 UTC)
    29.76 pour 100 gemmes, le 2018-04-11 19:56:41 CEST (2018-04-11 17:56:41 UTC)

    btw, stopping posting the updates to not spam this discussion, but my app is still running, at least till monday morning

  • Even if this endpoint is working correctly, I think it will only update once every 5 minutes, as that's what the default cache time seems to be. There are endpoints with different settings, but those are exceptions. Right now I can't check what it's supposed to be, as it seems that some endpoints aren't responding with a cache-control header right now (which I think they did before?).

    Anyway, it seems you had kind of the same idea as me. I started monitoring it as well, and put all recent data into a graph. Feel free to make your own conclusions, but to me it seems that the caching is not doing its job properly. Mind you, coins->gems with 100000000 is gw2spidy's, which magicailly started updating again right after I started monitoring... gems->coins with 100000 is also gw2spidy's. If you want the actual data, the source csv files are over here.

    Anyhow, we've been talking on gitter about this and Mike seems to also think that caching might be the culprit.

©2010–2018 ArenaNet, LLC. All rights reserved. Guild Wars, Guild Wars 2, Heart of Thorns, Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire, ArenaNet, NCSOFT, the Interlocking NC Logo, and all associated logos and designs are trademarks or registered trademarks of NCSOFT Corporation. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.