Is Herald useless for fotm and raids now? — Guild Wars 2 Forums

Is Herald useless for fotm and raids now?

I recently started playing again (after revenant's boon duration got nerfed to 33%) and was wondering if that change basically removed herald from the game dungeon-wise. I have personal level 100, full zerker ascended with scholar runes, 150 AR, every fractal skin, ad infinitum, and almost every golden fractal skin but groups seem to prefer some extra dps over somebody with a massive amount of fotm experience. I'm sure raids are even worse for them right now.

Comments

• Azoqu.8917Azoqu.8917 Member ✭✭✭

Concerning raids, a few changes during that patch are the reason why Herald got basically removed from the game (though condi Rev is pretty decent). Not only did Nature get a decrease in power and their damage got nerfed, but Signet of Inspiration on Mesmer got nerfed because of WvW which caused the meta to shift to 2 Mesmers for quickness since one could no longer stack it on the whole group. Since there was a shift to two Mesmers (funny how a nerf to a class caused an increase in said class), there was no need for a Herald to help buff the duration anymore since two Mesmers did it instead.

In the latest balance, condi Rev became viable, though I don't know how accepting people are of it since no one in my static plays one so I haven't seen it first hand. The best use for your zerker armor is Guardian since it seems to be the only class with a viable power build (only Elementalist beats Guard for power damage, and then only on large hitboxes).

• Dang, I guess I'll hope the new revenant specialization is good. otherwise i'll have to main a new class

• Condition Revenant is a fine DPS build anywhere. It's not optimal, but it performs very well overall and has a fairly low skill cap. Power Herald and condition Revenant both are fine for Fractals unless you're doing 100CM where you really want the stronger, more specialized classes.