So, how do you start doing fractals?

EpicName.4523

Hey,

I started playing last month. Boosted a mesmer to 80, got the mount then played a guardian to 80. Elite specs are fully unlocked and both heroes have berserker exotics from TP because I heard they can use it in PvE and do well. No runes or sigils yet, though. Finances are tight right now.

After watching a a few You Tube videos about fractals as a whole, I wonder about 2 things.

First, GW2 lacks the holy trinity, I get it. However, It seems this game still have dedicated tanks and supports which kind of contradicts this philosophy. Basically, if I join a fractal group, will the people assume that I'll be tanking or supporting just because I play a mesmer, which I hear are quite desirable profession for this kind of thing? I understand that professions are not dedicated to a simple role like in WoW and no matter what they are assigned to do, they should still also dps, but someone has to take damage, buff and heal in the group, right? Or everyone just does his rotation and that is all there is to it?

My guardian is DH because I've been told that FB relies more on condi damage with harder to acquire gear. However, it has the longbow from its elite spec and I've read longbows are inferior to scepters for dps. Should I switch to exotic scepter+torch to make myself useful?

Lastly, from what I've seen in world events, it can be quite difficult for melees to stay in range without dying too much. A few seconds too long in the red zone and you are more of a liability instead of an asset. As a DH, should I switch from ranged to melee to optimize dps or is it to ok to just chill in the back and spam arrows from a safe distance? Can't find anything about dps rotation when it comes to DH and everyone claims they are piss easy to play. Do they even have a rotation?