Countering Deadeye's Mark?

Illconceived Was Na.9781

What's the best way to deal with being marked by a Deadeye in WvW? Or, if you're a Deadeye, what sorts of things do you worry about your opponent doing?

I don't play much thief, so I'm not very good at putting myself into their "sneakers" (that's "American" for running shoes or "trainers"). I know that one option is breaking LoS, but that's rarely practical, especially in a 2:2 where the thief's roaming partner is in a bunker build (can't leave off attention from the 2nd opponent, can't easily hide, and yet there's this Mark of Damocles hanging over my neck).

Are there profession-specific tricks? Can I assume the thief will wait for max Malice and dodge then? I'm assuming there are some viable tactics and I'm not simply doomed against any competently stealthy renegade.

Thanks in advance.

edit: my apologies for mangling the name of the elite specialization; I meant Deadeye, the thief elite.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Honestly, save your dodges if marked and wait for a red laser pointer aimed at you; you then proceed to dodge the DJ. Max Malice usually takes around 15-25 seconds to fully point out which is when the DE will usually take a shot. Yes, we can re-apply instantly the mark, but we have to reveal ourselves to mark you again. Basically, dodge when you see the laser pointer on you then you start to give chase and engage if you can catch them.

If you can't, focus on the partner or someone else because it will be some time before he can try to one shot you again.