Returning guardian looking to get into fractals

MoJoe.9063

I just got back into GW2 after having not played since before HoT release. I have never done fractals before but I want to start, so I'm curious to know how guardians perform in fractals. My main is actually a necromancer but my understanding is that guardians are generally better for group content, so...

Can anyone suggest a build? Maybe a melee build with mace and/or focus since I really like those weapons... but I'm open to pretty much anything besides full condition damage. Also keep in mind that I'm still playing baseline GW2, so no Dragonhunter or Firebrand, although I will most likely be buying HoT pretty soon.

Guardians are in a good spot...

No, really. They are. A guardian is a welcome addition to most teams, and there are many different builds you can run. The two big ones are the pure DPS dragonhunter, and the Pure DPS Firebrand. Getting on a team with a pure guardian may be a bit difficult, though, since the elite specializations are really good at what they do.

The power Dragonhunter build looks something like this. I say "something like this", because the exact traits, gear, utilities, and weapons can be adjusted depending on what you do. One of the common ones is replacing the berserker gear with valkyrie, since this build can get a large amount of critical chance through retaliation and fury. In general, you'll want to swap out utilities depending on what is needed for each encounter:

Bane Signet for extra power and CCWall of Reflection for... reflects"Stand your ground!" for extra retaliation and stability"Retreat!" for blocks and movement speedSword of Justice for additional burst damage.

etc.