How to become a VIP

If it's the Chinese server VIP system you're talking about then I think it's an upgrade you buy on the gem store.

If not can you tell us what this VIP tag looks like so we can work out what it is? There's nothing on the NA and EU servers called a VIP tag, but there's lots of things you could have seen which might look like one, including commander tags, mentor tags, PvP rank badges, world completion badges and the Arenanet guild logo. If you can describe it or post a picture of one we can tell you what it is and how to get it.

• ArenaNet Staff

@Icemanfrost.5428 said:I'm very new to the game and I don't quite know how to get that cool VIP tag I see on some people, what does VIP offer, and how do I become one?

Hi. I don't think I've seen a VIP tag, but I have seen guilds named VIP, so if you're seeing something like Fred Player.1234 [VIP] then that's their guild tag, and not a special designation.

@Gaile Gray.6029 said:

@Icemanfrost.5428 said:I'm very new to the game and I don't quite know how to get that cool VIP tag I see on some people, what does VIP offer, and how do I become one?

Hi. I don't think I've seen a VIP tag, but I have seen guilds named VIP, so if you're seeing something like Fred Player.1234 [VIP] then that's their guild tag, and not a special designation.

Ah. Yes, I've seen the VIP in purple letters. I assumed it was the person. I'm really new. I just that tag on my first day. Someone ran past me with it. It looked nice.

• ArenaNet Staff

@Icemanfrost.5428 said:

Ah. Yes, I've seen the VIP in purple letters. I assumed it was the person. I'm really new. I just that tag on my first day. Someone ran past me with it. It looked nice.

The purple letters intrigues me. I thought it would be green. Hmmm...

In any case, Icemanfrost, don't hesitate to ask questions here. We'll all try to help you, and I want to be sure to say "Welcome to Tyria" and wish you well in your journey!