Will Revenant remain strong?

Omnicron.2467

I am new to WvW and I have heard Revenant is strong in this game mode. I have played him in various settings and usually prefer using another character for Fractals, Raids, and even Open World.

Wonder if I can enjoy him in WvW. I like the idea of Power Hammer Herald. If he is gonna sucks here now I will probably play Thief or Mesmer or delete my rev and make a scourge

The CoR nerf kinda puts rev on my "meh" pile. It gave up much in the way of mobility, condi cleanse, and general panic buttons in order to do obscene damage. Now its damage feels merely adequate, while its survivability remains subpar. In most circumstances, I feel like staff ele is a better choice.

CoR can still hit for above 10k every 4sec, and most of the other hammer abilities can hit like a truck still.You're not really going to roam with that build it's meant for groups so you can worry a little less about survivability and generally just positioning.Ele's have access to better panic buttons but all their hard hitting skills are on longer cooldowns and require targets to stay in the area for a period of time.

CoR nerf made the class irrelevant in WvW. If you want to do AoE damage at range while in large groups do play Necro builds; if you want to play a support or tanky character use a Guard. If you want to roam get a Mesmer, Thief or Ranger: will serve you better.

Rev is for hybrid damage at PvE raids, and was once good at gathering and mining rich ores (before quickness was deleted from Impossible Odds). At the release was godlike for PvP, due their high damage and sustain tried to cloack the lack of polish of an unfinished class, but time past, nerfs were made but the bugs, unbalances and clunckyness stays. Just reroll.