Unblockable attacks pass through shields

whoknocks.4935

Hey everyone, I am still new at roaming and I still have to acquire many knowledge of all the professions.

But today while I was roaming with my guardian using sword-shield I just fought a soulbeast, I popped my shield5 at some point to avoid to get bursted down by him using longbow, and with my surprise he was still able to hit me and kill me with arrows through my shield.

It is the first time ever happened, he was running the skill to make unblockable attacks for sure, but shield5 is not an aegis, it doesn't block, it absorb projectiles, so why the hell they made it possible to pass through anyway?

I can understand on warrior shield5, it's a block skill and appears the note " block, block, block..." so if an attack is unblockable it still hit you.

Same thing for my dragonhunter F3 skill, it is a block, and unblockable pass through that obviously.

So why in the world absorb is treated the same as block being 2 different things?

So what if a ranger shoots with unblockables against a smoke screen or wall of reflection? It pass thought those as well?

Maybe for you guys it's normal and I am weird, but discovering it today for the first time made me so incredulous.

Well. You see. A long long long time ago in GW there were two ways to avoid damage. Evade and Block. Eventually ANET balance team determined that both performed the same function (there weren't dodge rolls in that game) so they simplified everything to just Block. Making the counters to block just as intuitive. This philosophy was not passed onto GW2 (I wouldn't apply it to "dodge" of course).

Sorry bebe. D: