[Research] Drop Rates of Materials from Foes and Influence of Magic Find

Wall of text incoming. I was a bit surprised that there is not that much information available from the wiki/forums/reddit/etc. regarding drop rates from kills. I’m a GW1 vet and still a bit stubborn in wanting to find ways to make “old school” mob farming possible and competitive in terms of gold/time. Unlike metas, mob farms are always up and you can hit them for 5 minutes or 30 minutes, depending on your playtime that day. In the past I have been able to occupy some very lucrative niches supplying things that are in demand, but not really produced by the “meta” farms. Along the way, a roller-coaster ride of the best open world mob farm ever! that got introduced with PoF, followed by the collapse of that market, followed by new market demand shifts got me interested in actually figuring out how mob drops work, how MF influences things, and how to look for new farm idea without having to go grind out kills to get data. So here I have some results from drop rate and Magic Find testing. As the numbers are based on statistical testing, I do not claim that the drop rates are “true” drop rates, but rather, what I have tried to do is to get an idea of how drops work and generate a useful model that fits the data. I don’t claim that this is how the drop tables are actually programmed (I’m not a programmer), only that the model is my best interpretation of how things seem to work. So, without further ado…

I Swung A Sword…I Swung A Sword Again…Hey, I Killed Something!

When you kill a foe it appears that there is first a roll to determine whether you get anything, and if you do, what general type of item you will get. The main foes used in this testing were Canyon Spiders (lvl 63, N = 2000), Jungle Spiders (lvl 80, N=2001), Dredge (lvl 31, N = 3011), Branded (lvl 38, N=2275). Based on my testing so far, this initial roll has a table that looks something like: