An Economist Looks at Tyria: GW2 Prices and Deflation

I'm a full-time economist and writer (thrilling, I know - like meeting a taxidermist, or an actuary). That doesn't make me an expert in anything, but it does mean I spend a lot of time on the real-world equivalents of questions people are asking about GW2:

• Are prices falling mostly from an increase in materials or a decrease in sources of gold?
  • Is deflation bad for the game?
  • Would inflation be good for players?

There's a lot of misunderstanding about the first question, even though it has a specific answer. The last two suggest opinions, depending on what you mean by "bad" and "good" here. I'll write what most economists would say (because, really, who doesn't want to hear from economists?), and then put my own thoughts.

What Moves GW2 Prices=======A lot of prices have clearly fallen. I've been playing only a couple months, but it's easy to see older posts with higher pricing for ectoplasms, silk, thick leather, powerful bloods, and more.

Is it Istan? Is it the nerf to dungeon gold? An increased interest in items sold for gems, prompting conversion of gold?

Does Less Gold Mean Deflation?People usually state this the other way: more gold means inflation (so deflation must mean lack of gold). That's not quite true, but it's a common view, as in this summary of GW2 Deflation from MMOsite :

• 'There’s a town of 10 people... each with $10 and a single item they can trade. At this point, the items are worth $10 each.Now we... add another $900 to the economy, leaving each person with $100. If the items were $10 each, one person’s money could buy everything there is. Instead, the monetary value inflates, such that now it takes $100 to buy an item.'