New Player, totally confused.

Odemus.1370

I started playing about a month ago and after an initial trial period of briefly trying out every profession I settled on the engineer because it seems like a blast and actually reminds me of my all time favorite class-the Bard from EQ.

However my problem is now that I'm 80 I really don't know what direction I need to go and most information I find starts from the premise that I'm an experienced player.

I'd like to start more group content like fractals and I'd also like a build that gives me a bit more survivability than I currently have so I can get through some of the story content. I'm currently on season 2 Living World and I get slaughtered pretty quickly and it has been getting frustrating.

Right now I have berserker gear with all power/precision/ferocity stats where I can put them and I go through a basic rotation of orbital strike and grenade barrage when they are up, acid bomb on the elixer gun, flame blast, jump shot and blunderbuss on the rifle and then grenades until orbital strike is back up and I start over.

This seems pretty decent for open world stuff but anything that takes longer than 20 seconds to kill tends to be problematic.

Right now I have 32 hero points to put into one of the elite specializations but I'm not sure if I'm ready to do that yet.

So basically I'd love to know how I can improve my game, as I mentioned previously I loved the Bard in EQ so I'm pretty decent at managing cooldowns, and switching between an array of abilities to suit the situation I'm in. I just find the sheer number of options and the volume of technical information online to be incredibly daunting.

So any advice directed at me as though I'm a complete moron would be greatly appreciated. I'd love to know if I should start focusing more on a pistol/Condi build, or if power is fine for now and how I should refine my current build, or what kind of content I should focus on next to work on ascended/legendary.