WvW Zerg Fights

Elsabob.9023

Hello,

I'm looking for some tips and tactics for zerg v zerg fights , i.e. what should I be doing and how can I get close enough to land hits without dying in a fiery pool of death?

I am pretty new to WvW, although I've played as casual PvE player for around 4 years (mainly doing open world and story missions, but I've done some fractals and dipped my toe into raiding too). I have been really enjoying roaming, flipping objectives, engaging in a few player fights too (I'm not getting many kills yet but I am getting people running away, which I'm counting as a win for now). I've been solo roaming as well as roaming with a few guildies who have been showing me the mechanics and explaining the acronyms. But I'm struggling in the larger zerg v zerg fights. I find there is a lot of waiting around to get ready, and then a charge, then some hanging around just outside max range right in front of a load of the aforementioned firey pools of death. If we do then manage to engage, there is a lot of visual noise and confusion, and I'm not sure what I should be focussing on, or where I should be going/positioning myself? Normally ends with pool of death, respawn, run, repeat. Not finding this fun. Am I destined to never enjoy zerging, or am I just really doing it wrong?

For info, I started with my scourge, but have been playing my holosmith more recently (more fun roaming, but feels ineffectual in a zerg). Scourge could probably do with some tankier gear as I'm currently using a mix of viper and carrion. Holo is in Marauders, almost like https://metabattle.com/wiki/Build:Holosmith_-_DPS_Holosmith but with a couple of different skills (because I really enjoy rocket boots and like the healing turret) . Mostly exotics with ascended trinkets and a couple of pieces of ascended armour (work in progress). I also have a tempest and mirage that I'm fairly decent with and could potentially gear up for wvw.

TLDR: Tips for zerg fights please!