I have never seen so many helpful people in game before. Are you paying them or something?

I am not the most social or helpful person in game, I enjoy keeping to myself and grinding. It's just how I relax. That said, at least a dozen random people in map chat have walked me thru entire hero point maps, explained shit at length regarding gear and crafting and logged on Mesmers to get me to hard to reach spots. I'm kind of taken aback. I have been gaming for 20+ years and this is very unusual. Do you guys have employees playing or something? Or maybe you are really onto something with this open world setup that forces people to interact with each other? Maybe both?

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

@Selminus.1490 said:I am not the most social or helpful person in game, I enjoy keeping to myself and grinding. It's just how I relax. That said, at least a dozen random people in map chat have walked me thru entire hero point maps, explained kitten at length regarding gear and crafting and logged on Mesmers to get me to hard to reach spots. I'm kind of taken aback. I have been gaming for 20+ years and this is very unusual. Do you guys have employees playing or something? Or maybe you are really onto something with this open world setup that forces people to interact with each other? Maybe both?

For me it's pretty natural to help the players with Hero Points or whatever somebody asks me to do.

So I think I'm not only one that thinks that helping the people is something natural. :)

Anet employees do play the game, but they obviously don't make up the majority of the player population. GW2 allows for more friendly interaction between players than some other games, generally speaking. I think this is partially due to the more casual crowd the game seems to attract, as well as due to things like loot and kills all being shared (as long as you did damage, you'll almost always get kill credit and loot).