Newbie first time into GW2 — Guild Wars 2 Forums

Newbie first time into GW2

Hi, it's my first time playing GW2 with some friends, thing is they have played before and they know what they are doing, unlike me.
I have got both expansions and I'm torn with all these classes.
I'm looking for something that can do some serious damage and is balanced in pve/PvP. I'm not Into the mesmer hype though.
I will tell you my experience, I have tried all the classes but haven't actually played the game yet hah.
I loved engineer but the turrets seems to be really weak and I also tried the flamethrower kit and it seems okay...but not strong. I know that holosmith is really strong though.
I also tried necromancer and it really was fun with all the pets and reaper shroud but I only heard people staying how bad they actually are in pve and PvP and they never were good. And I'm like...ok...
Warrior Beserker seems to be really cool and very strong with, alot of burning damage just not sure how strong are they?
Thief I was told to stay away from thief and necro as they are the forgotten classes? Abit sad because deadeye seemed to dish out some nice damage in PvP...

I'm torn between these, thief, engi, Beserker, necro...
Can you enlighten me and advise what should I go for? I love all of them equally but I don't know how good they fare in PvP and pve.

Thanks

Answers

• ButcherofMalakir.4067ButcherofMalakir.4067 Member ✭✭✭✭

For pve, necro is probably best class for open world content (minions are very strong there). In party based content (raid/fractals/dungeons) it is mostly condition dps class that is not that hard to play decently but require enourmous coordination to do great (and then it is best dps in the game). It shines in fights with alot of mobs and can provide some ultility if needed.