Base Mesmer Needs a main hand power weapon.

Artyport.2084

If you wanna play power mesmer you have only one option for mainhand power and that is sword.Sure i can use greatsword as my other power weapon but the problem is you can never use pistol or offhand sword at the same time.I love playing with dual swords but I'd also like to use my pistol as power sometimes too.

Ditch the GS and run sword/sword-pistol? Then you can run both offhand sword and pistol at same time. Playstyle will be different without GS for sure however anything works in most content in this game.

You will not need a third sword, just leave the mainhand empty on one of the weapon swaps.

While scepter looks like a condi weapon, it's actually a hybrid. The damage coefficient on Confusing Images is quite high (wiki says 3.6). But most people seem to hate scepter.

In terms of having the same weapon in the mainhand in both sets, I've been playing builds with scepter-scepter mainhand for a couple of years, and I actually prefer it. (These are all condi builds though)

• 3 weeks later...

i'd like it if the next xpac gave an elite that made greatsword behave like a melee weapon only traited in the new specialization tree. I think we will see that across a few classes, cause what else weapons can they give to warrior? lol. They're gonna have to make some weapons just behave like new ones in the new specs. That's my opinion. But i'd love greatsword as a melee weapon just for aethetics.

I also think a hammer would be cool. Idk how old you guys are, but used to be a game called The Legend of Dragoon for PS1. Was a turned based RPG. It was pretty cool, all the characters in your party had a signature weapon. One character was this really petite girl who used a Hammer. I always thought that was cool. I think a mesmer could swing hammer in an elegant way, and be way more unique than the way other classes use hammer.