Looks like I was wrong =( focus will only be good for core guard, not DH

mrauls.6519

If you run symbolic build on DH or just double 1h weapon sets (sw/x & sc/x), focus isn't half bad. That however isn't optimal and is mainly used for 1v1s.

As fore core guard, I'd have to agree with Darkni. Honestly, the blind on old focus 4 may be universally more useful since it helped to have that defensive capability even if it wasn't useful in a pinch. I think once you get used to this new focus 4 it may be useful though, especially if you're going in for a burst and start on hammer, then end on sw/f.

@hidewaise.4801 said:Isn't focus 4 one of the best weapon skills for proccing virtue of justice passive burn?total newb here, not trying to sound smart

I think with the right trait if will proc it three times alone for a condi fb build, which generally traits justice to be an aoe. Maybe having axe/torch in one set and scepter /focus in the other will be better then double torch?

@hidewaise.4801 said:Isn't focus 4 one of the best weapon skills for proccing virtue of justice passive burn?total newb here, not trying to sound smart

It's good at proccing it, specifically hitting 9 times, which translates to 3 stacks of 2s burning if you have the VoJ trait. But in pve, swapping away from torch is asking for trouble with the Radiant Fire procs, which are hugely more impactful than RoJ.

Radiant fire has a 12 second cd I believe. Theoretically if you swap exactly at that time to throw up focus 4, it could work, but you would be screwing over your normal rotation between axe and scepter to do this, and would probably lose more damage.