Haven't played in years and have moved to a different continent. Can I change servers without money?

I started playing this game at release, in Europe. I played for a while and lost interest. Now, I no longer live in Europe.

My nephew just started playing GW2 and I'd like to play with him. If we both enjoy it, I'll likely buy the expansions for my account and upgrade his free account as well. However, I'm unwilling to pay money to change servers just to see if we enjoy playing the game together.

Is it possible to change servers without buying gems? I only have 100 gems and don't have enough gold to convert into 500 gems. Should I just uninstall and tell my nephew to forget about it (he already picked an American server and I'm stuck on a European one)? I encouraged him to make an account because I thought we could play together, but when we party up all I can see is a dot on the map and not him.

One of you can delete all of your characters to get a free transfer (just make sure you put any account bound items in the bank before doing so). He could do it and just go to an EU server, or you could do it and go to an NA server. Up to you guys. Or, as Healix suggested, you could just make a free account to mess around on with him while you decide if you want to come back fully.

Free accounts can only transfer by deleting all the characters as said above.

Paid accounts - that have bought one or more expansion - get one free world transfer to any world so long as it's open.

(though, im not sure how that stands for non-free but non-expansion accounts. i assume theyd also get a free transfer upon buying an expansion?)

@Lexi.1398 said:Free accounts can only transfer by deleting all the characters as said above.

Paid accounts - that have bought one or more expansion - get one free world transfer to any world so long as it's open.