Classic Ranged Archer - it's possible?

RailgunX.3461

Hello there!

I'm new to the game, and I wonder if there's a chance to play as an archer.From what I read, the ranger profession would be the closest, but the specializations turn out to be melee.

Is there a profession whose final form is the classic archer of the rpgs? and that it is a strong and good build to play all the contents of the game?

Thanks in advance ;)

No ranger is as close as you can get. And as for melee it's more of both, and full melee only really got raids.

Even then there's a druid build were groups will have ranger take long bow for one of the raidwings in order to "hand kite"

(You as the above poster said also go sb for a consistent vareient)

Its also important to note that the Elite Specs are "not" designed as upward progression, but exists to change the class's mechanics for expanding its buildcraft. They're commonly seen as stronger mostly because they'll tend to focus in specific areas, and the popular ones are typically skewed toward combat builds. Another important note is that this game has a strong combat dynamic, so trying to be "all range" or "all melee" is a huge disadvantage. This is on top of the fact that the game does heavily emphasize melee combat for high risk/reward strategies, while range is considered kite and control for stronger positioning. There are builds that do go one or the other, but they make up the deficiency using other mechanical strategies to fill the gap.