Absolute Newbie to WvW... Tips?

Chorne.8195

I started playing WvW as my staff Elemantalist but I am totally lost... My server is Sea of Sorrows. We never have a 'Zurg', we are perpetually getting crushed, and I have no clue what to do. The only thing I've ended up doing is taking the ruins on our home map over and over again until someone from another server comes and destroys me. The stupid help NPC at the spawn was absolutely no help whatsoever. Can anyone help me out a bit?

Staff Ele should be alright for small group play and soloing camps if you're into that playstyle. The zerg is either on EBG or off doing PvE while its all shiny and new.

My advice (if you can't locate your zerg) would be to try soloing more objectives than ruins, and try to group up with others on your map. Take a dip into enemy BLs too once in a while to flip some stuff there.

I'm on Isle of Janthir and I'm part of the "linked server" with SoS. During NA prime and OCX prime time there is always a zerg, although with PoF release the crowd have died for PvE (for now). I'm happy to take you around when I'm online (depending on your timezone).

As Theodon asked, are you just new to WvW or are you new to GW2? I can try to answer as many questions depending what your circumstance is.

@Pelto.9364 said:Start with condi mesmer. For noobs like me, only thief and mesmer are fun to play in wvw. If you want torture yourself by rerunning from spawn, play anything else. Condi mesmer is more fun of the two, mesmer and thief.