Help in picking a class

frostpaw.6235

I started playing gw2 about a year and a half ago. It was my first mmo so it took me a long time to figure out the basics such as gear stats. I started off with necromancer and ended up hating it. I have since tried different classes but I am unsure of which one I will enjoy the most once it's at 80. I do not like classes which involve pets or minions so that already rules out necro and ranger. I've considered giving elementalist a try because of it's mage like abilities of which I am quite fond of in mmos. Any advice for a newbee?

@KellieTea.5607 said:I do not like classes which involve pets or minions so that already rules out necro and ranger. I've considered giving elementalist a try because of it's mage like abilities of which I am quite fond of in mmos. Any advice for a newbee?

Start with warrior. It's a very fun profession that is highly recommended for new players. I wouldn't recommend elementalist because of how complicated the profession is unless you enjoy practicing difficult professions for a long time.

@Sephylon.4938 said:what are you looking to get into, pvp, wvw or pve? As for ele, it's a very squishy class that requires you to know how to use your active defences (dodge, evades, blocks, heals, etc) ontop of your passive ones (armor, damage reduction traits, etc) to be able to survive.

Probably a bit of everything tbh but mostly pve

ele is fine in pve, though as stated before, you need to get acquainted with your active defences since you don't have alot of passive ones. You need to learn how and when to dodge, strafe, use evasion skills, blocks and use barriers to be able to use it effectively in open world pve. From what I've heard, ele isn't in a good spot in pvp/wvw, though I've met a few weavers (ele pof espec) in wvw that are basically unkillable 1v1 due to how well they manage their evades, heals, blocks, and dodges.