Help me find my profession! :)

Exce.4069

Hey, im new to the game and wonder what profession is "better" for a solo player that mostly play a dps and will mostly doStory (getting a feeling of the game, complete the map)Fractals (love pve in other games and want to be "useful" in a grope)WvW (seems to be interesting but i do not pvp that much in other games)
Im primarily interested in Mesmer, Elementalist, Necromancer, Revenant and Thief. But im open for whatever if some other profession might be better for PvE content that will be my main focus.Any suggestions are a big help! :)

Well out of those options I would probably say Necromancer. You not only have access to pets to help you out, but the Deathshroud class mechanic is essentially a “second health bar” for added survivability when solo.

However!

For just solo PvE, be it open world or story, all classes can do it just fine. There’s really no need to center something as impactful as class choice around that.

Edit: woohoo! Thank you, whoever clicked Helpful on this post - it was my 250th “Helpie”! :kissing_wink:

@"Exce.4069" said:

Fractals (love pve in other games and want to be "useful" in a grope)

that is when mesmer shines and necro doesnt. like mesmer is the most useful profession in pve group content... and there is a lot of bias against necro, because necro does not reach benachmark dps and the "usefulnes" is limited to utilities that lose in effectiveness, the better the group is/gets you are playing with.

How much more expensive are we talking about? I have heard that its not "easy" to get money in this game, is that true? If its a easy ore hard learning curve does not matter.And if so are there some other profession that might be better suited for my "needs"? Like i said in my first post im open for whatever profession honestly. The ones i listed just caught my eye honestly.