Starting WvW and need information. Lots of information.

EpicName.4523

People claim there are several options to build a scourge for WvW. I'm new to this mode and need something braindead easy to learn how to play.On meta battle there is "power scourge" which uses marauder gear. Some people on the forums have pointed out that celestial is the way to go while others say that trailblazer is what you need. So, power - condi or celestial? Also, if it is celestial where to get ascended accessories with that prefix?

Since I have started already with the questions, I've seen several other builds on meta battle https://metabattle.com/wiki/WvW including "backline herald" which uses berserker gear. Don't they get two-shotted by pretty much everything or is this some kind of kill-or-be-killed playstyle?

Also, I 've seen many complain about "roaming mesmers" which seem to be either condi/power or some kind of mix between them. However, the build that is on the very top of metabattle WVW is "support chrono". What kind of gear mesmers use in WvW? Aren't firebrands supposed to be the go to support for that mode?

And finally, if you don't want to play deadeye and instagib people from max range, is it ok to play a condi thief? Is it good?

Thanks!

All condi scourge used to be a thing but the meta - at least in the EU - has since shifted toward more power. Celestial is the baseline but you can swing either way really.

Heralds run all power and need the support of the frontline and healers to be effective, thats usually how the backline work.

For the mesmer, support chrono is a pure zerg build and it doesnt compete with fb for slots. You simply want a few of them. Nobody roam on that. Well, nobody sane. As with zergs, the roaming meta has heavily shifted toward power instead of condi and many will be running shatter or hybrid mirages.

Its ok to play condi thief. Its the most retarded condi build one could ever run no matter if its effective or not, but its ok.