Six years and the Necromancer is still... Underwhelming?

MrMadMan.2904

When I started playing GW2 1-2 weeks after the initial release I decided to play the Necromancer. As it turned out Necro wasn't considered to be very good and, judging by the forums at the time, in quite a desperate need of buffs. As its rather frustrating to be playing an unwanted class in a MMORPG (I've been there before) I started to loose interest and decided to shelve the game after about a month in hope that things would get better later on. This ended up being a almost six year long break and I just recently decided to try the game out again. However, judging from the forums and different videos I've come across, the necromancer still doesn't seem to be in a very good spot and just downright bad in endgame PvE content like raids (which is what I was hoping to be doing).

So I guess my question is - is the necromancer still underwhelming or have I misinterpreted the current state of the class? Because I find it quite hard to believe that it would stay in a bad state for so long.

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Depends what game mode you want to get into. Wvw is still pretty much aoe spam and necro's aoes stack better than any other class due to pulsing boon corrupt on wells, especially with scourge adding sand shades to the aoes. Its boon rip is also pretty much mandatory, and viewed as op in pvp and wvw. Recent buffs has also given it some fangs, axe2>spinal shiver will down unaware players. (Though given the 1 3/4 sec channel on axe 2, and the lack of stealth and reliable gap closers on necro, it's hard to land this unless your target is preoccupied with something else)