Q: About Tank/Healing role in GW2, did Elite specs put more focus into these?

Hi,I started playing GW2 not long after release. Being used to Tank/Heal/DPS (WoW for example), I never dared to join a dungeon group thinking I'd cause non stop wipes.In every WoW (or other MMO) dungeon I loved to be a healer, and later being a tank in these same dungeons because I got used to what was coming (and know how to put less pressure on healer while I tanked).

Unfortunately for me GW2 is different when it comes to roles in dungeons. It makes me insecure. In WoW I was fully dedicated to heal, or keep aggro. Same for my gear, my skills, dedicated to my role.

Now HoT/PoF brought Elite specs to GW2. Does that mean there is more room to focus on a role?

And some other related questions:

• Does it make me an idiot to show up in healer spec in a pug dungeon (no fractal yet)?
  • In case of playing dungeons: Is berserker gear still the safe way to play, even as healer? I'd prefer to focus on heal(/tank) specs but I have no idea how it works in GW2.
  • Which profession+(elite) spec combinations are considered decent heal/tank roles? I see a ranger can now get healing skills by being a druid. I'm very interested into anything healer.

First of all, I am going to assume we only are speaking PvE here:

Several things have changed with HoT/PoF, part of it is certainly the appearance of more support oriented specs. Mainly in the shape of druid (ranger heal spec) and chrono (mesmer tank spec). But it is just as much the content that have changed. To understand the kind of change and what it mean, we need to start by taking a small look at what "define" the 5 different kinds of PvE content. Open world content, Dungeons, low lvl fractals, high lvl fractals and lastly raids.

Open world: Any thing have always worked here and still do. So builds work better in groups and some will take alot longer to kill stuff if running alone but ultimately, you can make anything work.