Offhand weapon to Mainhand Sword for PvP and WvW

idolin.2831

I have been using sword offhand since I started playing Rev, and to say I haven't been carried by sword 4 and 5 is a lie - they're both incredibly strong when used right.

I'm a bit curious about Axe and Shield offhand though - Axe 4 has decent damage, a teleport (albeit less reliable) and Axe 5 is a CC, which I think I will like (especially for clearing camps or for CC-ing lords). As for shield, both skills are kinda meh but can clear conditions when traited - I haven't used it though so I don't really know how it fares against condi builds. I'm gonna try Axe in the upcoming days, but for people who have used all 3 to an extent, why do you choose one over the others, or does it depend on the situation?

@Elric.4713 said:Sword OH damage is too good to pass up, axe you could try but it gets outclassed and shield is just a bad weapon. Would be great if our weapon choices were more varied, but sadly the situation is different.

@Elric.4713 said:Sword OH damage is too good to pass up, axe you could try but it gets outclassed and shield is just a bad weapon. Would be great if our weapon choices were more varied, but sadly the situation is different.

I tried looking for threads when sword offhand was reworked, and there seemed to be tons of people saying it was outright a bad change and sword offhand was just a worse axe - did anything change since then?

as far as my little experimenting with weapons goes sword+sword is nice melee burst combo.