Article 13 in Europe

Aridon.8362

In case if you haven't heard already, Article 13 was passed in Europe, so I wanted to hear people's opinion on this since it is a big thing that could impact some of the well known players. Copyright is a huge issue in the gaming world and as a game dev I can understand why an act like this would be put into play. Maybe Anet don't care if users post content of their game around, improbably betting they don't, but imagine the what ifs that come into play.

@Just a flesh wound.3589 @"Randulf.7614""Article 13 would force all online platforms to police and prevent the uploading of copyrighted content, or make people seek the correct licenses to post that content. For the most part this would mean filters that check content as it's uploaded would be mandatory for platforms including Facebook, Instagram, GitHub, Reddit and Tumblr, but also many much smaller platforms."

Copied from some site: https://www.cnet.com/news/article-13-europes-hotly-debated-eu-copyright-law-explained/

@Glider.5792 said:@Just a flesh wound.3589 @"Randulf.7614""Article 13 would force all online platforms to police and prevent the uploading of copyrighted content, or make people seek the correct licenses to post that content. For the most part this would mean filters that check content as it's uploaded would be mandatory for platforms including Facebook, Instagram, GitHub, Reddit and Tumblr, but also many much smaller platforms."

Copied from some site: https://www.cnet.com/news/article-13-europes-hotly-debated-eu-copyright-law-explained/

I suggest you edit your OP to add it. Most people aren’t content creators and many won’t know anything about this law. In addition a lot of people only read the OP then comment, so you’ll see this same question repeatedly.

Edit. Nvm. Not the OP